十七 | Family Visits

November 29th, 2016

I’ve been in Hong Kong so long that I’m now the tour guide for my family. How lucky of me to have back to back fam visits. The first week went to my father’s side from Florida, and the second week went to my mother’s side of the fam from Brooklyn. I missed everyone more than I thought. Seeing familiar faces after spending 4 months across the world is quite a relief.

Alright, so the Florida fam were super energized and ready to see everything, you would’ve never thought they just came off a 16 hour flight. I was expecting a bit more jet lag. My littlest brother Keane, 7 years of age, was pretty unimpressed with Hong Kong as expected. He also had homework to journal his visit here, so every night when he was told to write he’d pull out the fake sleeping tricks. My goal was to keep him distracted from playing his Ipad as much as possible, and make it so that when he had free time to play games he’d actually rather sleep haha. So we did a lot of fun stuff, Ocean Park, Cable Car visit to Lantau Island, shop at all the cool toy stores, etc. For each of the five or so days they were here, we got up early and returned late. No wasted time in the visit, leaving me pretty drained when it was time to do some late night studying.

img_8661

Keane lol

img_8659

Dad & Yvette

Between visits I had about 5 days to catch up and get ahead on my studying for when the Brooklyn fam had arrived. They were the complete opposite upon arrival, the jet lag defeated them haha, which is completely understandable. I was just happier they were here. We got off to slower starts to our day, which is more to my suiting, more sleep :). With the New York fashionistas, my mom and cousin Shea, we jumped right into the shopping. Meanwhile, my jokester brother Kyle, 13 years of age, drags along ready to get in on an adventure. That’s where we relate, we get bored pretty quickly but I actually don’t mind shopping. We did similar tours to my dad’s visit, I was more of a pro this time around though. What made this visit extra sweet was that a friend of mine who’s a recent Drexel grad also from Brooklyn, and her two accomplices came to visit Hong Kong the same week! So we joined forces of course, and I had a greater tour guide responsibility. Book me for your next Hong Kong trip. It was 2x more fun having more great people around, full of laughs and smiles. Such a rare occasion.

 

img_9104

Kyle

img_9112

Once in a lifetime capture.

These visits were truly special to me. Growing up we look to make our parents proud, and one day be able to pay them back. I’m not a point where I can give them all the riches in the world, treat them to a new house or new cars, and I don’t know if I’ll ever be. But I am the first of my family to even think of coming to this side of the world. For them to follow me here along with my younger siblings, and entrust in me to give them such an unforgettable experience, means the world to me.

Discover more from Drexel Education Abroad

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading